Romanian film Dogs, directed by Bogdan Mirică, is the winner of the Transilvania Trophy 2016. The winners of the 15th edition of TIFF were announced on Saturday evening, June 4th, at the National Theatre in Cluj, during the Closing Gala of the festival attended by almost 900 people.


The main award was handed out on stage by the Minister of Culture, Corina Șuteu. Actress Sophia Loren received the Lifetime Achievement Award and producer Iain Smith accepted the Transilvania Trophy for Special Contribution to World Cinema.


Transilvania International Film Festival, the full list of winners

Transilvania Trophy, offered by Staropramen – Câini / Dogs, directed by Bogdan Mirică

Best Directing Award –Avishai Sivan, for Tikkun

Special Jury Award, offered by HBO – Sparrows/ Vrăbii, directed by Rúnar Rúnarsson

Best Performance Award – David D’Ingeo, De l’ombre il y a / Where there is Shade

Special Mention of the Jury – Monika Naydenova and Alexander Benev, for their performance in Thirst

FIPRESCI Prize, offered by The International Federation of Film Critics for a film in #Animal section – Neon Bull, directed by Gabriel Mascaro

The Audience Award, offered by MasterCard – The Open Door/ La Puerta Abierta, directed by Marina Seresesky

Lifetime Achievement Award – actress Sophia Loren

Excellence Award, offered by Mercedes-Benz – actress Carmen Galin

Lifetime Achievement Award – actress Orosz Lujza

Special Award for the Contribution to the World Cinema – producer Iain Smith

Special AwardTransilvania 15 Trophy – director Cristi Puiu

Romanian Days Award for Best Feature Film, offered by Cinelabs Romania – The Last Day/ Ultima zi, by Gabriel Achim

Romanian Days Award for Best Debut, offered by Raiffeisen Bank – Discordia, by Ion Indolean

Romanian Days Award for Best Short Film, offered by Jameson – A Night in Tokoriki/ O noapte în Tokoriki, director Roxana Stroe

Special Mention of the Romanian Days Short Film JuryMy Name is Costin/ Mă cheamă Costin, directed by Radu Potcoavă

Best Film Award in the Shadows Shorts Competition, offered by Shorts TV – Saint Frankenstein, directed by Scooter McCrae

Special Mention in the Shadows Shorts Competition: The Pond, directed by Jeroen Dumoulein, and Sister Hell, directed by Fredrik S. Hana

Let’s Go Digital! Award for Best Film produced in the LGD Workshop, offered by UPC – Today I Come/ Azi vin, by Călin Boto, Andrada Băleanu & Agata Olteanu

Transilvania Pitch Stop Development Award offered by TIFF – Tie/ Scor alb, directed by Marius Olteanu

Transilvania Pitch Stop CoCo Award, offered by Connecting Cottbus Co-Production Market – Alive in Moscow/ Viața în Moscova, by Grigore Becket

Local Competition Award, offered by Banca Transilvania – Perfect Investment/ Investiția perfectă, directed by Ibolya Simó

Special Mention in the Local Competition, offered by Fabrica de Pensule – The Light that Memory Lends to Things, directed by Ana Vijdea

The Young Francophone Jury Prize – offered by TV5 Monde, RFI Romania, Institut Francais – Death by Death/ Je me tue a le dire, directed by Xavier Seron